# 2024 ENGINEERING COLLEGE TO UNIVERSITY TRANSITION ORIENTATION AGENDA Saturday, June 15 via ZOOM

### TIME EVENT: MORNING SESSION

10:00 am - 10:30 am WELCOME FROM LAKEHEAD UNIVERSITY

#### WELCOME FROM THE FACULTY OF ENGINEERING Dr. Janusz Kozinski, Dean, Faculty of Engineering

10:30 am – 12:30 am **'LAKEHEAD 101 FOR ENGINEERS' PRESENTATION** Dr. Krishnamoorthy Natarajan, Assistant Dean, Faculty of Engineering Heather Moynihan, Academic Manager, Faculty of Engineering

### QUESTIONS

12:30 pm – 1:30 pm **BREAK** 

### **EVENT: AFTERNOON SESSION**

1:30 pm – 4:30 pm ENGINEERING STUDENT FAIR

#### **ENGINEERING CLUBS AND SOCIETIES**

- Engineering Student Society (ESS)
- Canadian Society for Chemical Engineering (CSChE)
- Canadian Society for Civil Engineering (CSCE)
- Canadian Society for Mechanical Engineering (CSME)
- Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE)
- Engineering Makerspace

#### **ENGINEERING SOCIETY BREAKOUT ROOMS**

Join discipline breakout rooms to meet your cohort! Virtually tour Engineering Society Club Rooms

#### STUDENT DEGREE PROJECT SHOWCASE

- Chemical Engineering: TBA
- Civil Engineering: TBA
- Electrical Engineering: TBA
- Mechanical Engineering: TBA
- Software Engineering: TBA



# 2024 ENGINEERING COLLEGE TO UNIVERSITY TRANSITION ORIENTATION AGENDA Sunday, June 16 via ZOOM

- TIME EVENT: MORNING SESSION
- 10:00 am 11:00 am KEYNOTE ADDRESS
- 11:00am 12:30 pm GREETINGS FROM THE PROFESSIONAL ENGINEERS ONTARIO (PEO) – LAKEHEAD CHAPTER

'ROADMAP TO PROFESSIONALISM' AND THE PEO 'STUDENT MEMBERSHIP PROGRAM (SMP)'

12:30 pm – 1:30 pm **BREAK** 

#### **EVENT: AFTERNOON SESSION**

- 1:30 pm 2:30 pm **STUDENT PANEL: GAIN THE ADVANTAGE** Tips from Lakehead Engineering students. Learn from their success!
- 2:30 pm 4:00 pm LAKEHEAD SUPPORT SERVICES
  - LAKEHEAD UNIVERSITY STUDENT UNION (LUSU)
  - STUDENT ACCESSIBILITY SERVICES (SAS)
  - OFFICE OF HUMAN RIGHTS AND EQUITY (OHRE)
  - STUDENT HEALTH AND WELLNESS (SHW)

## 4:00pm – 5:30pm GROUP ADVISING SESSIONS - MEET YOUR CHAIR PROGRAM BREAKOUT ROOMS

- Chemical Engineering Chair: Dr. S. Elyasi
- Civil Engineering Chair: Dr. J. Deng
- Electrical Engineering Chair: Dr. C. Christoffersen
- Mechanical Engineering Chair: Dr. S. Siddiqui
- Software Engineering Chair: Dr. A. Yassine

